Another Classic 80’s Album Gets A Reissue

Morrissey and Johnny Marr’s group, The Smiths, have just announced a deluxe reissue of their 1986 album The Queen is Dead. The album, which came out just over 30 years ago, featured the singles “Bigmouth Strikes Again” and “The Boy with the Thorn in His Side” as well as indie rock anthems “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out” and “Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others.” The Queen is Dead has been a critical darling since its release, over time gaining perfect scores from Pitchfork and Rolling Stone and has been ranked #1 on NME’s Greatest Albums of All Time List. The three disc box set will feature complete re-masters of the original album, 13 B-sides and demos, and a complete recording of their Aug. 5 1986 show at the Great Woods. The three disc box-set will come with a DVD copy of The Queen is Dead film, and will be released through Warner Bros. Records on Oct 20. Check out a cut from the reissue below.